Legal Writing Faculty

At UNT Dallas College of Law nearly all full-time faculty members teach students legal writing—after all, writing assignments are incorporated into the College of Law curriculum in nearly all doctrinal and skills-based courses. A select number of College of Law faculty, however, in addition to the Director of Legal Writing and Assistant Director of Legal Writing, regularly teach advanced writing courses and/or have been trained to serve as major writing advisors for students who complete their major writing through an independent study.  


Professor Melissa Shultz, Director of the Center for Writing Excellence

Professor Christine Tamer, Assistant Director of Legal Writing

Professor Diana Howard, Legal Writing Specialist

Full-Time Professors: Advanced Writing Courses and/or Advisors for Independent Study Writing Courses

Professor Jonathan Bridges

Professor Loren Jacobson

Professor Eric Porterfield

Professor Ellen S. Pryor


Adjunct faculty are critical to the writing program at UNT Dallas College of Law. Although full-time faculty oversee the Center for Writing Excellence and teach the first-year writing curriculum, it is adjunct faculty who lead the small-section workshop component of the first-year legal writing courses. In addition, after working in our first-year writing program, writing adjuncts often return to the College of Law writing program either to teach in the first-year program again or to teach and to design an advanced writing practicum.  


Page last modified on August 17, 2018 at 12:08 am.